Industry Bulletin



& lodustry

<u>Click here to go to CSLB's website</u> | <u>Click here to check a contractor's license</u> | <u>Click here for information on Senior Scam Stopper seminars</u>

May 1, 2017 CSLB #17-06

CSLB Announces New Fee Schedule

Application, licensing, registration, renewal, and other fees will increase approximately 10 percent

SACRAMENTO – Since its creation almost 90 years ago, the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) has been steadfast in carrying out its mission to protect consumers by regulating California's construction industry in the most financially responsible way possible.

CSLB operations are funded entirely by license fees, and today, a combination of increased costs and a seven-percent reduction in the number of licenses necessitates that CSLB raise various fees by approximately 10 percent. This is CSLB's first fee increase since 2011, and only the second increase since 1993. The new fee schedule was approved by the state legislature last year, and takes effect July 1, 2017.

The decision to raise fees is not made lightly, and over the past number of years CSLB has taken multiple measures to reduce costs. Unfortunately, CSLB cannot further reduce the expenditures that support our licensing and enforcement programs without negatively affecting our ability to process applications in a timely manner and to quickly mediate or investigate consumer complaints.

This fee increase will help ensure CSLB's continued effectiveness in regulating the construction industry for the state of California.

The chart on the following page highlights the current and new fee schedule.

CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD

New Licensing Fee Schedule

Changes Effective July 1, 2017

		STATE LICENSE BOARD
Application, Certification, Licensing & Registration Fees	June 30, 2017 or <u>BEFORE</u> *	July 1, 2017 or <u>AFTER</u> *
Application for Original Contractor License (exam/waiver)	\$300.00	\$330.00
Initial License	\$180.00	\$200.00
Additional Classification (for an existing license)	\$75.00	\$150 ^{.00}
Additional Classification (with waiver for original application)	\$75.00	\$75.00
License Reactivation	\$360.00	\$400.00
Replace Qualifying Individual (for an existing license)	\$75.00	\$ 150 .00
Add New Personnel (for existing corporation or LLC)		\$100.00
Rescheduling an Examination	\$60.00	\$60.00
Application for Home Improvement Salesperson (HIS)	\$75.00	\$83.00
Application for Asbestos Certification	\$75.00	\$83.00
Application for Hazardous Substance Removal Certification	\$75.00	\$83.00

Renewal Fees	LICENSE/REG EXPIRING June 30, 2017 or <u>BEFORE</u>	LICENSE/REG EXPIRING July 1, 2017 or <u>AFTER</u>
Active License	\$360.00	\$400.00
Inactive License	\$180.00	\$200.00
HIS Registration	\$75.00	\$83.00
Delinquent Renewal Fees (renewal fee + penalty)		
Delinquent Active License	\$540.00	\$600.00
Delinquent Inactive License	\$270.00	\$300.00
Delinquent HIS Registration	\$100.00	\$ 124 .50